Daily Archives: February 29, 2012

Before we begin…

Pretty shot.

View from our main door. You can catch a glimpse of the newly opened Punggol Waterway and what I suspect is the Johor Straits from our home. They didn’t call our estate Punggol Breeze for nothing.

Before I show you guys photos of mayhem and half-naked men hard at work, here’s the full set of before shots for the home.

The living room. I’ve shot this before. Excuse the rags on the floor pls.

Living room. Closer shot of the windows + TV console and sofa areas. That’s our bags stacked together, balanced on a stool. We were waiting for our Hoe Kee purchases (kitchen sink, hood, hob, oven, bathroom mirror cabinet, storage heater) to arrive. We were smart enough to bring a fan along.

View of our main door from TV area. We’re getting the carpenters to create a full-height shoe cabinet to the left of the door. Excuse the leaflets strewn on the floor!

There’s a recess wall in our living room where we are planning to place some mid-height cabinets to store the usual knick knacks (stationery, cutting tools) and our dear Nespresso machine. I can’t wait getting it out of its box… we bought it last year!

Closer shot of the sofa and dining areas. That’s the corridor that leads to our bedrooms. The air-con is fixed on that very beam.

The corridor, with a plastic bag containing a mixer and bidets hanging off the bomb shelter door handle.

Dressing room.

Study and pet’s room.

Main bedroom entrance. We’ll have built-in wardrobes right at that corner. I was initially hesitate about having built-in wardrobe space but I gave in because the discount given for removing it from our package was so negligible, I thought I could do with more wardrobe space. On hindsight, I was lucky I opted for the wardrobe. I simply have TOO MUCH TO STORE. Do note that I also have a dressing room which will be filled with racks of clothes.

Main bedroom.

Main bedroom again, lotsa windows.

Lotsa lotsa windows.

Main bedroom, headboard area. We initially wanted out headboard to be placed against the other wall because it would be easier to have the TV beside the SCV point, but Fengshui’s better the other way. So we won’t be watching any free-to-air in the bedroom. But then again, the husband and I have not been watching free-to-air for the longest time. We’re happy doing away with it.

We’re spending some dough on the main bedroom toilet. Mirror with cove lights on top and cabinets at the bottom.

I was initially extremely irritated  by the colour (dirty grey) of the vanity top. But well, we’re not supposed to remove it. It’s kinda growing on me. Our renovator assured us that it will look fine with the mirror, happening feature lighting and cabinets. It doesn’t look all that bad now.

Let’s return to where we began. Our kitchen is located right next to our main door.

Tiny kitchen. There’s no other way to work this other than parallel kitchen cabinets. For maximum storage space, I’ll have parallel top and bottom kitchen cabinets. I’m getting excited just imagining the meagre amount of floor space I’ll have to mop after cooking.

View of the kitchen from the inside. This is where the sink, hood, hob and oven will be.

Our fridge will be placed all the way on the left, countertop space will be home to kitchen appliances like the blender, toaster, microwave, whatevers.

So now that we’ve seen enough of my old new home, I’ll be posting MAYHEM photos that depict the current messy state of my home in my next post. Can’t wait!

Leave a comment

Filed under The Home