Daily Archives: February 8, 2012

The new home.

Owning your own place costs a lot of money. But not only that – turning an almost barren apartment into a comfortable home costs money, time, effort and lots of brain cells. Choices have to be made, preferences have to be compromised, arguments have to be resolved before the renovator decides to act on freewill.

I must say it has all been a rather enriching process. I’m intending to give a detailed, step by step update on how our new home is going to be put together. I remember writing about the decorative stuff I bought earlier. Well, there’s NO WAY I can document each and every trinket I bought. What I can remember vividly are the big ticket items that are important enough to have an impact on my life and our bank account.

We got the keys to our home on 28 November 2011. I’m tempted to do a Facebook timeline of sorts to put everything in chronological order. It’s not going to be easy. Let me give you an example – we bought our Sealy Posturepedic bed in June last year. Our purchases are as sporadic as you can imagine. Yes, we are THAT excited about having our own place.

I’m also going to share as many tips as I can – from picking the right renovator, deciding which laminate for your kitchen cabinets, what colour to paint your walls in, to timing your finances. Make the pain worthwhile, y’ know.

We have an indicative budget of S$40,000 to spend on our new home (sans flooring which came with the house). This includes all renovation work and electrical items.

Let’s begin.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Home